We had written an article about the complexities that occur after weed becomes legal in a state, and a new article at Asbury Park Press pretty much takes the cake.

In Massachusetts, there’s concern that there won’t be any spaces to smoke weed in public, but the saving grace has always been that you can just take the weed home with you, smoking peacefully in your living room.

However, the way the marijuana bill in New Jersey was written up, there’s an option for property owners to ban smoking on their properties, which would include individual units.

That’s 37% of citizens of the state who are potentially within this ban.

Smoking indoors is quite commonly prohibited indoors in signed leases, so it’s not out of the question for marijuana smoking to become targeted.

The fines associated are $250 for the first offense, $500 for the second, and $1,000 for every offense after that. This money would go to the state, not the landlords.

The problem here is more associated with the smoke itself, so things like edibles are still on the table. And while many of us renters have smoking bans already written into our leases, of course there are ways to hide the act (which I’m not condoning!..kinda), but still, the knowledge of your habit being prohibited can linger in the back of your mind. It’s not always the most pleasant.

Read the full story at Asbury Park Press.

Views: 33